Staffan Lindberg winner of AtSea Baltic Match Race

Staffan Lindberg, FIN, won AtSea Baltic Match Race today. On second place came Peter Wibroe from Denmark. Both skippers met each other in the final last year and this year Lindberg won over Wibroe. Baltic Match Tour continues with more races in Tallinn 16-18/8 and Helsinki 19-21/8

– We are really pleased with our win today comments Staffan Lindberg. Especially since we lost in the finals last year against Wibroe.

– We have felt we have had an edge with our boat speed throughout the event but we can work more on improving our starts. Fortunately we have managed to shift gear in each race even though some poor starts and managed to get on top of things.

Peter Wibroe comments;
– Despite us not winning today we are overall happy with our performance throughout the event. As a team we came here with not enough time for training but we felt we came out ok since day one. In the last final race we got a penalty against us before the start. Even though it ended up not being the issue for us not being able to win today since Lindberg managed to sail really well in the last downwind and secure his lead.

On third place came the world match racing tour sailor Björn Hansen, also one of the initiators to the Baltic Match Tour.

– We are of course not pleased with not winning today but I am very pleased that the teams are having a good time and like this new match racing concept, comments Björn Hansen. For next year we are hoping for stronger winds and I am looking forward to going racing tomorrow in Tallinn.

Results AtSea Baltic Match Race, Stockholm

1. Staffan Lindberg, FIN
2. Peter Wibroe, DEN
3. Björn Hansen, SWE
4. Michele Perris, MON
5. Phil Robertson, NZL
6. Evgeny Neugodnikov, RUS
7. Olli-Pekka Lumijärvi, FIN
8. Keith Swinton, AUS
9. Simone Ferrarese, ITA
10. Mati Sepp, EST
11. Mikael Lindqvist, SWE

Peter Wibroe – Michele Perris, 1 – 0
Björn Hansen – Staffan Lindberg, 0 – 1

Michele Perris – Peter Wibroe, 1 – 0
Staffan Lindberg – Björn Hansen, 1 – 0

Peter Wibroe – Michele Perris, 1 – 0
Björn Hansen – Staffan Lindberg, 1 – 0

Race Schedule:

• Stockholm 13-15/8.
Organizer: Stockholm Match Race Center and Gamla Stans

Yacht Sällskap.
Venue: AtSea Lidingö, Stockholm

• Tallinn 16-18/8. Organizer: Estonian Match Racing Union.
Venue: Pirita.

• Helsinki 19-21/8. Organizer: Nyländska Jaktklubben.
Venue: Havshamnen.

For more information about Baltic Match Tour: or contact Henrik Grape, , +46708 650 604.


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s